FACULTY RESEARCH AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING Tuesday, November 29, 2016, 5:00 pm Library, 6th Floor Conference Room

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call
- 2. New Business
 - a. Fund availability
 - b. Review endowment applications
 - c. Review compensated leave applications
 - d. Professor of the Month nominations

MINUTES

The Arkansas State University Faculty Research Awards Committee met on Tuesday, November 29, 2016, in the Library 6th Floor Conference Room on the ASU-Jonesboro campus. Chair, Bill Burns, called the meeting to order at 5:04 pm. In attendance: Members: Andrew Sustich, Bill Burns, Brett Savary, Gabriel Tait, Justin Castro, Koushik Biswas, Sarah Labovitz, Cheryl Dubose and Ashraf El Sayed; RTT staff: Lily Peschanskaia. Members absent were: Ryan Kelly and Richard Segall. Segall submitted his recommended rankings by email in advance of the meeting.

New Business:

- a. Eleanor Lane Faculty Development Endowment: \$4,752 available for this academic year. Nathan Deutsch Faculty Development Endowment: \$1,031 available for this academic year.
- b. Total of three applications one for Deutsch Endowment funds, one for Lane Endowment funds and one for both Lane and Deutsch funds – were received and reviewed. Burns expressed concern that if both Deutsch applications are funded, there will be no money remaining for the spring semester. Sustich answered that there are enough money in RTT fund that can be used in the spring. Motion made by Labovitz, seconded by Castro to fund all applications in full. All in favor.
- c. Four applications for compensated leave were received. Sustich noted that the procedure is for the Committee to provide a ranked list of the applicants to the Provost. Committee deliberated on the applications. It was noted that the priority should be given to faculty going away on their leave, rather than staying in the area. After discussion, the following applications were recommended to Provost for funding:

Tanya McKay Melissa Wilkerson Jerry Farris Po-Lin Pan

d. Committee received eight applications for the spring Professor of the Month award, and had to choose 4-5 nominees. It is unclear how the Professor of the Year will be selected, but most likely it will be one of the Professor of the Month awardees from the previous year. Committee discussed the rubric created by Justin Castro, and the criteria for rating the applications

FACULTY RESEARCH AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING Tuesday, November 29, 2016, 5:00 pm Library, 6th Floor Conference Room

established by the RTT: scholarly, research or creative work, its relativity to the discipline, recognition of the work at the national and/or international level.

After reviewing the applications, the four recipients for Spring 2017 were chosen to be:

- 1) Fabricio Medina-Bolivar
- 2) Cherisse Jones Branch
- 3) Stephen Guffey
- 4) Brook Fluker

Motion to adjourn by Burns and seconded by Sustich. Meeting adjourned at 6:05 pm.

Submitted by: Lily Peschanskaia (Grant and Contracts Specialist, RTT)